Blurb = Blarg

A blurb is like a mini “elevator speech” about yourself to introduce who you are, what you do, why you are so great in 3 sentences or less. This much we know.

Why do I mention this? Because I am currently (attempting) to write a blurb about myself for a program I am participating in tomorrow.

The Intrepid Sea, Air and Space Museum is holding their Youth Leadership Conference program with over 100 high school students from the NYC area. This day-long Conference includes a tour of the museum, a keynote speaker and a few sessions with mentors to discuss character traits and leadership qualities.

As I am a mentor for this program, I need a blurb and I need one bad. Talk about writer’s block. This is a great writing exercise to get my thoughts together and once I do, I will use this blurb like it’s my job (or at least to help get me a job).

To clear my thoughts, I’ve made a list of blurb must-haves below:

  1. my name
  2. education info (summed up)
  3. professional info (typically starting with current position and highlighting accomplishments)

Seems kind of straightforward….I’m not sure why I dedicated a whole blog entry about this.

My Blurb: Valerie Albanese is a dedicated educator with over seven years experience in the museum and non-profit field. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Anthropology and Visual Arts from Fordham University, NY and recently completed her Master’s of Arts degree in Museum Education from Tufts University, MA while working at a Boston-based exhibit design firm, where her projects included the African Burial Ground Interpretive Center, NY and the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute, AL. Some interesting facts about Valerie; she has studied abroad in Australia, participated in an archaeology dig of a 18th century home, volunteered to clear brush for an education center on the Mohawk Reservation and curated an exhibit about folk art for the Lynn Museum in Lynn, MA.

One thought on “Blurb = Blarg

Leave a Reply

